I am 50 years old and was voted in as a Trustee for SAMA 82 in 2013, my main role predominantly being public relations.  I live in Gosport, Hampshire with my wonderful 14 year old daughter Gracie who in turn also helps at many SAMA 82 events and occasions.  This year I made the huge decision to change my career becoming a full time Community and Event Fundraiser for a local Hospice, who provide high quality specialist end of life care.  Prior to this, I had worked at IBM for 20 years holding various positions which included Customer Relations, Assignment Tax, Out of Policy Claims and Business Partner Operations, I was also fortunate to be able to work from home at a time when I needed too.

In 1982, my brother Neil Grose (3 Para) was killed in action on his 18th birthday in the battle for Mount Longdon, Falkland Islands, his death changed my life and that of my family.  Sadly in the early years following his loss, we were unaware of any support networks and had to deal with his death remotely which took its toll on us as a family.  My mum Ann Grose was my predecessor as trustee of SAMA 82 and played a vital role in designing and raising funds for the Falkland Wall at the National Memorial Arboretum, and I along with my brother Mark, contributed raising sponsorship by running the Great South Run, Portsmouth and other local road races.  My mum was also co-founder of The Veterans Outreach Support Group, Portsmouth which opened it doors 10 years ago and also benefited from the sponsorship I raised.  I was a volunteer for a number of years for Veterans Outreach Support Group and also volunteered as Treasurer for Haslar Memorial Gardens in Gosport. The decision to change my career this year was largely due to my previous voluntary history with charities and the sense of achievement in doing a job you can be proud of.

I was aware of the responsibilities required by a trustee and believe I have many attributes enabling me to bring an enthusiastic, independent and younger approach through my own personal and life experiences, as well as that of my families.